School District of West Salem Regular Board Meeting Minutes January 9, 2012 Marie Heider Meeting Room – 7:00 p.m.

Convene

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by President Tom Ward. The meeting was noticed to the Coulee News, La Crosse Tribune, WLSU Radio 89 FM, WXOW TV-19, WKBT-TV, WKTY, WIZM, Union State Bank, First Community Credit Union, St. Joe Country Market, River Bank-Barre Mills, West Salem Post Office, Village of West Salem, posted at each school, district web site, and district office on January 5, 2012.

Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag

Ken Spraetz led everyone in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and Lisa Gerke recited the District Mission Statement.

Roll Call

Present: Ken Spraetz, Jason Falck, Tom Ward, Errol Kindschy, Scott Scafe, Linda Brown, and Thomas Helgeson. Also in attendance – Administrators: Troy Gunderson, Eric Jensen, Mark Carlson, Barb Buswell, John Smalley, Michael St. Pierre, and Lisa Gerke; Student representative: Taylor Gile. Finance Director: Davita Molling, Recording secretary: Patrick Bahr. Excused: Dean Buchanan.

Approval of Agenda

Errol Kindschy moved, Thomas Helgeson seconded to approve the agenda adding a group picture to be taken after school board member is selected and the removal of agenda item – middle school scheduling options. Motion carried unanimously.

School Board Vacancy Interview, Selection and Oath

Those interested in filling the short term school board vacancy introduced themselves and offered brief statements. Questionnaires were previously given and shared with the board members. Catherine Griffin was available by teleconference. The following were randomly selected and the order being: Connie Dutton-Snell, Fred Perri, Diana Zwart, Syl Clements, and Ken Schlimgen.

The board appointed Connie Dutton-Snell to assume the position vacated by Linda Brown and to serve until April. Ms. Dutton-Snell took the oath of office and took a seat at the board table.

Connection with the Community

Taylor Gile on:

Semester finals will be taken next week on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday at the high school.

Correspondence

A thank you note from the family of Beverly Repky was read.

Taylor Gile, Student Board Representative, submitted his resignation from the school board due to a conflict with the evening course he will be taking.

Public comments - None.

Written and Oral Reports

CESA #4 Report – Mr. Kindschy reported that the committee discussed what was going on in the state: Accountability for educators and administrators and virtual schools.

Buildings and Grounds Long Range Facilities Committee – Mr. Scafe reported that the committee got an update on the current district facilities.

Policy Committee – Mr. Spraetz reported that the committee met earlier tonight and will have two policies for first reading tonight and a couple more for first reading at the next meeting.

Administrator Reports – Mr. Gunderson reported that due to the holiday break between board meetings, there were no administrator reports. Mr. Gunderson gave an update on the WASB convention itinerary, technology update and future committee meetings.

Consent Agenda

Mr. Helgeson moved, Mr. Scafe seconded to approve the minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of December 19, 2011, and the invoices to be paid. Motion carried unanimously.

Discussion/Action Items:

Mr. Kindschy moved, Mr. Spraetz seconded to accept the following donations:

- a. to the Dennis and Barbara Manthei Scholarship Fund from Gerrold and Joan Ewing, Albert and Annette Belling, Wayne and Darlene Affeldt, Paul and Ornelda Manter, William and Marsha Bateman, Monte and Lynette Wick, Herb and Judy Long, and Dennis and Barbara Manthei.
- b. to the middle school Family and Consumer Education Program from the La Crosse Dairy Council.
- c. to the Horace Moran Memorial Fund from Stephen and Deborah Kraus.

Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Gunderson presented information on the La Crosse County Farm2School initiative and received feedback from the board.

Mr. Gunderson reviewed a summary of the elementary school's budget, location 100.

Ms. Dutton-Snell moved, Mr. Kindschy seconded to hire Dawn Baker as a 20 hour a week paraprofessional. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Kindschy moved, Mr. Falck seconded to approve the 3.5 hours, 4 days per week paraprofessional position in the 4K program. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Falck moved, Mr. Helgeson seconded to accept the administrations co-curricular recommendations: middle school girls' basketball, Justin Running; middle school girls' assistant basketball, Amanda Beld and Ryan Waldhart; Odyssey of the Mind, Angie Hemker, Kari Huth, Jen Wheeler, Alyssa Jarosh, and Carrie Andres. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Kindschy moved, Ms. Dutton-Snell seconded to allow Mr. Falck to vote as he sees fit at the convention over the resolutions. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Helgeson moved, Mr. Scafe seconded to approve for a first reading of policy #345.5 Graduation. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Spraetz moved, Mr. Scafe seconded to approve for a first reading of policy #141 School Board Officer Duties as amended. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Gunderson reviewed the performance initiatives with the board. The administration will continue working to promote the initiatives with meaningful and measurable goals.

Mr. Ward welcomes the motion for closed session: The Board will discuss, consider and, if appropriate, take action pursuant to Wis. Stats §19.85(1) (c) "Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility" and nonrenewal/renewal, nonextension/extension, and employment of administrators under Wis. States §118.24.

Mr. Spraetz moved, Mr. Kindschy seconded that the Board convene in closed session at 9:20 p.m. A roll vote was taken: Mr. Falck Aye, Ms. Dutton-Snell Aye, Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Spraetz Aye, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Ward Aye, and Mr. Kindschy Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Closed Session

Adjournment Mr. Kindschy moved, Mr. Scafe seconded to adjourn at 10:18	p.m. Motion carried unanimously
Respectfully submitted,	
Jason Falck, Clerk	